Office 365 My Site
Click here to view the original post
The office 365 My Site is the hub for your profile and is where you can fill in a whole host of information about yourself as well as setup feeds and create your own lists and libraries.
In this post we will look at what you can do in your My Site and what effect it has across the Office 365 suite.
Your Profile Picture
Your profile picture will be displayed across various parts of Office 365 so it is a good idea to change this first, it can also take a few minutes to appear across the suite once you have uploaded it.
If you hover over the Profile Picture you will see that it invites you to change the picture.
It is important to click on the words “Change Your Photo” as otherwise the page just refreshes.
Once you have an upload form appears and you can select the picture you would like
Once you have browsed for the photo the page will update,
You can then click save to commit the changes.
The page does not automatically update so a forced refresh should update the profile area and you will see the picture on your profile page.
As you can see in the image below, the profile picture now appears on Outlook,
And if you sign into Lync, you will notice that the profile picture has been changed as well.
Wonderful integration I am sure you will agree.
Edit your profile
If you go back to the My Site homepage you will see the link to edit your Profile.
Click edit your profile to be taken to the first of five tabs, Basic Information.
Filling in some information here and clicking Save all and close, will save anything you have entered in all of the five tabs so it is worth going through each tab and filling in the information before clicking the save all and close button.
If you take a look at the second screen it is the first time you get to change the Who can see this? Option,
Anytime you have a chance to change this option it simply means anyone that looks at your profile will only see the information you specify, some of the fields are set to everyone and cannot be changed.
Once you have clicked save all and close, it doesn’t change too much to the homepage,
Only that it invites you to mention me or ask me about the topics that I have specified.
Now I have finished editing I can go and take a quick look at what my profile looks like to visitors.
Obviously when you have just started using your tenant there may not be much activity but over time you will see your My Site populated with a hive of activity and information in your feed.